How Leviticus 9 Informs Our Worship Service


Our current sermon series is Leviticus 9 in which we study and meditate on the offerings described in this chapter and elsewhere. These offerings were performed right after the ordination of Aaron and his sons into the priesthood of the tabernacle in the wilderness. This was Israel’s first worship service after the tabernacle was completed.

There are four different offerings described here in this sequence:

"Sacrifice of the Old Covenant" by Peter Paul Rubens, 1626 (click to enlarge)
"Sacrifice of the Old Covenant" by Rubens, 1626 (click to enlarge)

Sin Offering (verses 8-11)

Burnt Offering (verses 12-16)

Grain Offering (verse 17)

Peace Offering (verses 18-21)

I propose that each of these offerings are “a copy and shadow of the heavenly things” which are elements of worship that are mentioned in the New Testament and incorporated during the early church and Reformation periods.

I will add the Grain Offering element after I preach the sermon about it on September 1. Originally, I planned only a four-part series, so I omitted the Grain Offering since the whole chapter devoted only two verses about it.

 Click chart below to enlarge:

Click picture to enlarge



Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Related Posts

Who Raised Jesus from the Dead?

In all of God’s works – election, creation, redemption, and final glorification – the Father, Son and Spirit act in harmony as one. God is one, and therefore, each Person of the Trinity is involved in all that God does.